Carnegie Long List – continuing the challenge to read them all….

I’m setting myself the challenge to read all of the books on the long list before the winner is announced. 52 titles in 6 months. That’s 2 a week….. I’d better get reading!

Since my last post I have read….

There is No Dog by Meg Rosoff 

Okay so Meg Rosoff had a good idea – “What would happen if God was a teenage boy?” – the answer is this book. I liked the concept – but the execution was lacking, and the ending rushed and unsatisfying. I usually like Meg’s writings but this fell short for me, perhaps my expectations were too high?

 

 

 

HiddenHidden by Miriam Halahmy

Racism, immigration and asylum issues are all covered in this jam-packed book. Alix is walking her dog on the beach when she sees a man being thrown from a boat and being washed up on the shore. An immigrant and a loner from school, Samir, is there too and he persuades her to help hid the stranger. The story goes at a pace addressing and tackling the big issues. A kind of gritty Enid Blyton ‘let’s get the adults out of the way so we can have an’ adventure book – so unbelievable in places – but a good read nevertheless.

 

The Language of CatLanguage of Cat by Rachel Rooney

I loved this book. As the only poetry book on the long list it made a refreshing change. I enjoyed reading them to myself, and reading some aloud to my children. Some of the reminded me of my own poetry, especially those about words and poems and language. Very accessible and a lovely quick read.

 

 

 

 

 Books I’ve read so far….

      See full size image

  

   

Leave a Reply

