Carnegie Long List – continuing the challenge to read them all….

I’m setting myself the challenge to read all of the books on the long list before the winner is announced. 52 titles in 6 months. That’s 2 a week….. I’d better get reading!

Since my last post I have read….

Pull Out All the Stops by Geraldine McCaughrean

When I started reading this book I didn’t know it was following from “Stop the Train”, however this doesn’t matter much after the start of the book as the story is complete in itself. It is a classic Geraldine McCaughrean and having read many of her books I have to confess that I’m not a big fan of her writing style. But this book is action packed and I like the resolutions for her key characters but this book doesn’t quite ‘float my boat!’

 

An Act of Love by Alan Gibbons

Two friends Chris and Imran consider themselves ‘bloodbrothers’ but one ends up in the Army – the other a potential  jihad recruit. This book examines the differences of opinions, how each friend is pulled into making decisions that set them apart. A good ‘balanced ‘ story but on a recurring theme of islamic terrorism and the war on terror.  

Being Billy by Phil Earle

Billy is an angry ‘lifer’ who is destined to remain in Care Homes all through his childhood. He is angry about everything life has thrown at him (which we discover slowly through the book). What is really clever about this book is that Billy is a difficult character to like, (as is the ‘Colonel’ – his main carer) but as the story draws you in you just can’t help sympathising and start rooting for them. Which makes the ending rather sad. A fantastic read.

 

Books I’ve read so far….

      

  

   

Leave a Reply

