Carnegie Long List – continuing the challenge to read them all….

I’m setting myself the challenge to read all of the books on the long list before the winner is announced. 52 titles in 6 months. That’s 2 a week….. I’d better get reading!

Since my last post I have read….

 

Eight Keys by Suzanne LaFleur

Okay so the popular theme of death is again covered in this book, but in a slightly different way. Elsies parents died when she was very small and she lives happily with her Aunt and Uncle. Life is fine until she starts her new school and whilst things start to go wrong she finds a key. The first of eight keys that unlock the mysterious rooms in the barn. What she finds in each room helps her to adjust and cope with her ever-changing world. A Fabulous book!

 

 

Twilight Robbery by Frances Hardinge

Twilight Robbery. Does what it says on the cover. Robs you of all that wasted time spent reading at the end of the day in the “twilight” hours.

I haven’t read book one, and this book does not inspire me to race out and read it. But perhaps it was because I hadn’t read book one, that I had very little interest in the characters and their never-ending series of mishaps. It became very frustrating as the end of the book approached and there was yet another twist in the tale that meant it wasn’t all over yet.

I got through it – but boy was it hard going!

 

The Devil Walks by Anne Fine

Another fantastic book by Anne Fine. I read this in two sittings as I couldn’t put it down. It was interesting and different and is a page-turner. It is quite easy to read but has a gripping plot. Looking back there were clues to what was going on – but these were subtle and only hinted at what was to come.

Daniels strange childhood, his sudden rescue into ‘normality’ and subsequent return to his family home, all form a backdrop for a page-turning chiller.

Go read it NOW!

 Books I’ve read so far….

      

     

 

Leave a Reply

