Carnegie Long List – continuing the challenge to read them all….

I’m setting myself the challenge to read all of the books on the long list before the winner is announced. 52 titles in 6 months. That’s 2 a week….. I’d better get reading!

Since my last post I have read….

  

 Tyme’s End by B.R. Collins

I really enjoyed this book and thought that as soon as I had finished it I would need to reread it! Why? Well the story is written in three parts each going back to an earlier generation linked to the big house called Tyme’s End. In effect the story is written and revealed backwards so you see the effects of people’s actions before you see the original events. The third part and final piece of the jigsaw, was, I feel, the weakest part and a bit of a let down. I didn’t re-read the book as I had thought I might after part two.

Dragonborn by Toby Forward 

A refreshing fantasy with orignal concepts, ideas, and consequences to using magic rather than a ‘wave wand to fix everything’ story. I loved it, even though it is the first part of a quartet, and I can’t wait to read the next one. It is aimed at younger readers but still remains an interesting read.

 

 Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough

 I really struggled to get into this book. Maybe it was because I am unfamiliar with the Long Lankin myth, or perhaps it was my timing (over Christmas), however I think the main frustration was that after every one or two paragraphs the story’s point of view changed with a different character  – sometimes bang in the middle of an event. This made it difficult to follow. Plus for a “Ghost” story it was fairly boring for the first half of the book, then a series of rapid exposition from random characters, followed by the ‘exciting’ but predictable ending. It took me AGES to finish and I really had to drag myself through the book. Boo! 

Books I’ve read so far….

      

  

   

Leave a Reply

