Carnegie Long List continued

I’m setting myself the challenge to read all of the books on the long list before the winner is announced. 52 titles in 6 months. That’s 2 a week….. I’d better get reading!

Since my last post I have read….

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

As I suspected in the previous Carnegie Blog spot this turned out to be book one in a trilogy. Which fits in with the three siblings and the three missing books. Sigh. It is a bit of a mixture of Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl, but is a poor relation to both of these. I did like the time-travel explanation, and those in KS3 who love fantasy may enjoy this too.

Lia’s Guide to Winning the Lottery by Keren David

If you’ve ever wanted to get inside the head of a teenage spoilt brat then this book is for you! It has all the usual teenage coming of age angst:-parents, school work, friendships, siblings, love and sex. All magnified by Lia’s lottery win and the responsibilties that come with it.

My Sister Lives on the Mantlepiece by Annabel Pitcher

I really enjoyed this book, and the issue with lack of speech marks was avoided by having all talking in italics, so whilst not normal I was able to read without it being too distracting. The story covers the neglect of the surviving children many years after the death of Rosie, the subsequent breakdown of their parents marriage, alcoholism and the resulting bigotry. A uplifting story of survival, and a satisfying read.

 

I’m currently reading “The Emerald Atlas” by John Stephens and I have a nasty suspicion that this to will turn out to be “Book one” of a series too!

Books I’ve read so far….

     

Leave a Reply

