Year 7 Information Literacy Programme: Different Types of Reading

The latest Information Literacy session is an introductory session looking at different types of reading.

 

I demonstrate five types of reading:

 

Scanning : I scan for a fact (phone number)using a telephone directory

 

Skimming : I have covered a book about “Earth Sciences” in plain paper, I then flick through and skim read the chapter headings and the students have to work out what the book is about

 

Detailed Reading : I sit down and demonstrate reading for understanding, and make notes in the process

 

 

 

Reading for Bias : I show and read out an advert. Then discuss selling an ‘idea’ rather than just a product.

 

 

 

finally my favourite type of reading…

Reading for pleasure : I sit, relax and read my current reading material (Carnegie Long LIst books at the moment.

 

I then put the class into small groups and they are given four sets of cards. One set has the name of the type of reading, a second set  why we would use that type of reading, the third set describes how we would read, and the fourth set is a picture clue. The groups have to match the cards for each type of reading.

 

Common mistakes every year are the muddling of Skimming and Scanning, and confusion over Bias. But we have a closer look at these in later sessions…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

